Cell

… I remember the time I drifted from myself…

Caught up in the chaos of my own cards that I dealt…

A fake image I portrayed living for the day…

Mistake after mistake with the decisions I made…

How stupid I was because who I was, was loved…

But anyone who tried to get close, I pushed away and I shoved…

I couldn’t appreciate the things that I couldn’t see…

Love was always there, it was me who was seeing blindly…

The life I was chasing led to an inevitable incarceration…

Found myself alone against a serious situation…

I look around and wonder why everything is gone…

But then i realize, I’m the one who left all along…

Armando Mendoza AB-9264,D3-127

Kern Valley State Prison

P.O. Box 5104

Delano, CA, 93216

2 comments

  1. I love it :).. ddnt know u were a poet too.. lol
    Miss you chancludo!

  2. I really like your poem!
    I just wanna let know I think you are such an amazing person I am so lucky to have you in my life πŸ™‚ you make me so happy πŸ™‚ you’re very sweet and I’m so happy you’re my boyfriend πŸ™‚ I love you!

Leave a Reply

